CREATION DAY THREE: Dry Land


[9] And God said, Let the waters under the heaven be gathered together unto one place, and let the dry land appear: and it was so.
[10] And God called the dry land Earth; and the gathering together of the waters called he Seas: and God saw that it was good.
[11] And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, and the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth: and it was so.
[12] And the earth brought forth grass, and herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind: and God saw that it was good.
[13] And the evening and the morning were the third day.

–Genesis 1:9-13

I planted the tomato plants, and watered them. I went back, day after day, for over a week. At the end of that week, on my sixth birthday, I went to my grandmother, in whose garden the plants were planted. I asked her why the tomato plants had not grown tomatoes. My grandmother explained that tomatoes, like children, take time to grow, and that I should be patient. I waited all summer, as blossoms turned to tiny green tomatoes that grew and grew. Finally, one day in late June, there was a tomato that was ripe enough to pick. As I enjoyed that tomato with some salt and pepper, I realized that good things truly come to those who wait.

Dear Lord, thanks for reminding us that it takes time for all good things to grow. Amen.

Leave a Reply

