5 Years Ago: How Charlotte and I Met


It was one week after the new Wal-Mart Supercenter opened on Sparkman Drive in Huntsville, Alabama. I worked at the new supercenter as a cashier and also attended school at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. One of my best friends at Wal-Mart was Candy Ellis (now Candy Deen), whom I considered to be like a mom to me. Thursday, March 25, 2004, I stood in line with Candy while waiting for personnel to pass out pay checks to those who worked at the store. At the time, I was so concentrated on my studies at school that I honestly was not looking for a girlfriend. Candy told me that morning that she had someone she wanted to introduce me to that she was a friend of and hoped I would be, too. That person, who happned to be standing in front of Candy, was Charlotte Gurley. We said hi to each other, the line started moving, and we didn’t get to say anything else to each other at the time. I couldn’t help but notice, however, how beautiful Charlotte was and how much I wanted to get to know her better.

Fast forward two days to Saturday, March 27, 2004. When I got to work, Charlotte was sitting there crying. I sat down to talk to her. I soon found out that she had a birthday on that day, and her soon-to-be-ex had called her to discuss some circumstances related to their pending divorce. I immediately stated how sorry I was to hear about what was happening, and that she could come talk to me anytime. I promised to pray for her and even said maybe we could go out to eat sometime after the divorce was final. I knew she needed a friend, and probably was not looking for a boyfriend at that moment, but I secretly was praying for a chance to have a relationship with that beautiful, brown-haired angel that worked with me at Wal-Mart.

Little did I know that our friendship would soon grow and blossom into a relationship that would make us both the happiest couple in the world. However, I will save that story for another post.

Leave a Reply

